BCCI recommends Cheteshwar Pujara for Arjuna award

What is in news?13829

Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Monday recommended India’s top-order batsman Cheteshwar Pujara for the prestigious Arjuna award.

Who is Cheteshwar pujara:

Cheteshwar Arvind Pujara is an Indian cricketer.

He is a right-handed batsman who plays for Saurashtra in domestic cricket. Pujara made his first-class debut for Saurashtra in December 2005 and made his Test debut at Bangalore in October 2010.

Born: 25 January 1988 (age 29 years), Rajkot

About BCCI:

The Board of Control for Cricket in India is the national governing body for cricket in India. The board was formed in December 1928 as a society, registered under the Tamil Nadu Societies Registration Act.

Headquarters: Mumbai

Secretary: Amitabh Choudhary

Vice president: Rajeev Shukla

Founded: December 1928

About Arjuna award:

The Arjuna Awards are given by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports, government of India to recognize outstanding achievement in National sports.

Instituted in 1961, the award carries a cash prize of ₹ 500,000, a bronze statue of Arjuna and a scroll.

Over the years the scope of the award has been expanded and a large number of sports persons who belonged to the pre-Arjuna Award era were also included in the list. Further, the number of disciplines for which the award is given was increased to include indigenous games and the physically handicapped category.

The Government has recently revised the scheme for the Arjuna Award

As per the revised guidelines, to be eligible for the Award, a sportsperson should not only have had good performance consistently for the previous four years at the international level with excellence for the year for which the Award is recommended, but should also have shown qualities of leadership, sportsmanship and a sense of discipline.

From the year 2001, the award is given only in disciplines falling under the following categories:

Olympic Games / Asian Games / Commonwealth Games / World Cup / World Championship Disciplines and Cricket

Indigenous Games

Sports for the Physically Challenged

In mid-August 2011, 19 athletes were announced as Arjuna recipients; the high number due to the inclusion of both the 2010 Commonwealth Games and 2010 Asian Games in the Arjuna qualifying year.

In 2012, 25 sports-persons were conferred with the Arjuna awards.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Current Affairs ONLY
Register New Account
Reset Password