At G20 summit, PM Narendra Modi slams Pakistan

In News

Prime Minister Narendra Modi slams Pakistan at the G-20 summit+ on Friday as he named terror groups LeT and JeM along with global scourges IS and Boko Haram to drive home the point that some countries use terrorism as a tool+ and that the outfits are united by a common ideology despite different labels.

Highlights of Modi’s speech

  • Some countries were using terror as a tool to achieve political objectives and pressed for “deterrent” action collectively by the G20 members against such nations.
  • He equated the Lashkar-e-Taiba and the Jaish-e-Mohamamd, as also the Haqqani network to the Islamic State and al-Qaeda, saying their names may be different but their ideology is the same.
  • He regretted that the international response to terrorism was weak, and said more cooperation was needed to fight the menace.
  • Pitched in for a 11-point ‘Action Agenda’: for exchange of lists of terrorists among G20 nations, easing and expediting of legal processes like extradition and concrete steps to choke funds and weapon supply to the terrorists.
  • The Financial Action Task Force (FATF) and other mechanisms to choke sources of funds to terrorists should be strengthened.
  • Explosives Action Task Force (EATF): On the pattern of FATF, an Explosives Action Task Force (EATF) should be constituted- to choke the sources of deadly arms reaching the terrorists can be ended.

G-20 This Year

  • Held in Hamburg, Germany.
  • It is the twelfth meeting of the Group of Twenty (G20).

Areas of focus at G 20 Summit, 2017

  • More inclusive growth.
  • Implementation of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development.
  • Women’s Economic Empowerment.
  • Refugees and European migrant crisis.
  • Counter-terrorism and national security.
  • Cross-cutting policy recommendations.

Brief Information about G 20

  • The G20 (or G-20 or Group of Twenty) is an international forum for the governments and central bank governors from 20 major economies.
  • Founded in 1999, the G20 aims to discuss policy issues pertaining to the promotion of international financial stability.
  • It seeks to address issues that go beyond the responsibilities of any one organization.
  • The G20 heads of government or heads of state have periodically conferred at summits since their initial meeting in 2008, and the group also hosts separate meetings of finance ministers and foreign ministers due to the expansion of its agenda in recent years.
  • Membership of the G20 consists of 19 individual countries plus the European Union (EU). 
Print Friendly, PDF & Email
We will be happy to hear your thoughts

      Leave a reply

      This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

      Current Affairs ONLY
      Register New Account
      Reset Password