Govt Approves Rs 7 Lakh Crore Highway Projects

In news

The government on Tuesday approved the biggest highway construction plan so far in the country, to develop approximately 83,677 km of roads at an investment of Rs 6.92 lakh crore by 2022. 


The highway construction programme is aimed at pushing economic activity and generating at least 14.2 crore man-days across the country over the next five years.

HighlightsImage result for Govt Approves Rs 7 Lakh Crore Highway Projects

It include economic corridor developments aimed at faster movement of cargo.

The corridors included Mumbai-Cochin-Kanyakumari, Bengaluru-Mangaluru, Hyderabad-Panaji and Sambalpur-Ranchi.

The plan involves constructing 83,677 km of roads, highways, green-field expressways and bridges in phases.

Under the first phase to be completed by 2022, 34,800 km of highways will be built. This will include 24,800 km of the ambitious Bharat Mala programme, at a cost Rs 5.35-lakh crore, announced two years ago, to build highways through economic corridors centred around manufacturing hubs.

The project also entails constructing 6,000 km long inter corridor and feeder routes, 2,000 km of border and international connectivity roads, 5,000 km to be upgraded under the national corridor efficiency programme, 800 km of greenfield expressways, 10,000 km under the national highway development programme and 2,000 km of coastal and port connectivity roads.


It is a name given to road and highways project of Government of India. The total investment for the Bharatmala plan is estimated at ₹10 trillion (US$160 billion).This shall be the largest single outlay for a government road construction scheme.


Image result for Govt Approves Rs 7 Lakh Crore Highway Projects

The ambitious ₹ 10 trillion umbrella programme will subsume all existing highway projects including the flagship National Highways Development Project (NHDP), launched by the Atal Bihari Vajpayee government in 1998.

The project will start from Gujarat and Rajasthan, move to Punjab and then cover the entire string of Himalayan states – Jammu and Kashmir, Himachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand – and then portions of borders of Uttar Pradesh and Bihar alongside Terai, and move to West Bengal , Sikkim, Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, and right up to the Indo-Myanmar border in Manipur and Mizoram.

Special emphasis will be given on providing connectivity to far-flung rural areas including the tribal and backward areas.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
We will be happy to hear your thoughts

      Leave a reply

      This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

      Current Affairs ONLY
      Register New Account
      Reset Password